“Run Fooooooorrest Run…..!!!”

Yesterday my daughter and I got up early and headed to New Orleans for the “15th Annual Run Forrest Run/Walk 5k” benefitting Children’s Hospital. This race has been on my list but I had not had the opportunity to do it. Finally this year would be my year! It would be extra special due to it would be my daughters last race before she gets her Scoliosis back brace on Wednesday. We parked at Jax Brewery on Decatur and walked to the packet pickup area/race start located in front of the Bubba Gump Shrimp Company Restaurant. I didn’t even know they had a location in New Orleans so I was looking forward to checking it out after the race. Out front there was a very good Forrest Gump impersonator taking pictures with runners. He looked and sounded just like him. He introduced himself to me with the biggest smile and said “Hi, I am Forrest, Forrest Gump!” For me that was worth coming out to the race alone.

Look who it is!!! Even the Nike shoes!! love it!

Look who it is!!! Even the Nike shoes!! love it!


Packet pickup was a breeze and the crowd of estimated 1500 runners quickly filled up for the 8:35am start of the 5k.
15 minutes before the start of the Run Forrest Run 5k Run/walk on Decatur

15 minutes before the start of the Run Forrest Run 5k Run/walk on Decatur


It was a warm 74 degrees and 87% humidity due to the rain coming by noon. Alaina took the race at a slower pace taking in the sights along the way while I gave it all I had for my 28:38 finish. I was expecting more people dressed up for this fun themed race but we had a great time plus the rain held out until after we got our post race beignets at Café Du Monde.

Alaina got her "chocolate" after the race from Forrest!

Alaina got her “chocolate” after the race from Forrest!

4 thoughts on ““Run Fooooooorrest Run…..!!!”

    • Me too!! Yes, Alaina had a blast at the race. We even watched Forrest Gump last night & played movie trivia ( which she won). I’m looking forward to the Superhero 5k run/walk with her in a couple weeks. Let me know the next time your in BR or if you do any other races soon ;/)

Leave a Reply

