Duathlon training begins…

Saturday morning I got on a fat tire bike for the first time in a year immediately after going for a 4 mile run. My legs were a bit wobbly but I got a few miles in on the bike and then ran for 1 mile. I felt pretty confident about my brick until the next day when I decided to go for a longer bike ride. I turned on my Endomondo app so I could figure out my bike speed and compare it against my speed from last year’s bike I borrowed. I went for ten miles. (Ten TOUGH rolling hill miles!!) My speed was NOT where it should be even for a fat tire bike (10.9,11.3,11.7,10.5,10.8 mile times in mph) last year per my Endomondo app I was at (11.5,12.8,13.1,12.5,13.5 mph) What was the deal? Were these tires larger than last years? Were the rolling hills that tough? Yes, I did struggle but my legs are strong. After that 10 mile ride I attempted to go for a short run but my legs were NOT having any part of that. No brick today they were DONE!!! Feeling discouraged I went home and decided to rest. I’d make arrangements to bring the bike to my house so I could start practicing during the week and work on my speed/brick training. If you have any Duathlon tips please pass them on. Here are a few that I saw online:

•You don’t have to have a ‘flash’ racing bike to enter the Duathlon. Use whatever you have or can borrow. Have your bike checked by a cycle shop to ensure it is in a good and safe working order
•Look at the course map ahead of time.
•Make sure you have practiced over the distance.
•Practice getting on and off your bike in a safe environment
•Ease off your training the week before the race to approximately 50% of your normal training. Don’t take the week off just shorten and sharpen up your sessions. Do lots of stretching and keep up your fluids and have lots of rest.
•Make a list of all the equipment you will need on race day and pack it the day before. Lay out your gear the night before so you are not rushing to get it ready on race morning. (Freeze a water bottle if it will be a hot day)
•Have a good sleep 2 nights prior to the Duathlon. This will ensure you still feel good if you are nervous or sleepless the night before.
•Eat a good meal at lunch-time the day before to top up your carbohydrate stores, have a good dinner but nothing too heavy and eat a breakfast you are used to on race day. Something you would normally eat before you train.
•Go through the transition area before the race and know where the entries and exits are for the bike and run. If you are not sure, ask before the race begins
•Use a colorful towel to mark your area and a ribbon for your bike rack (if allowed)
•Don’t forget your bib number for the entire race (run-bike-run) make sure # visible.
•Don’t go out too fast
•Stay calm during your transitions. Getting flustered won’t make transitions quicker. Sometimes gear gets moved and knocked or. If you stay calm you are much more likely to find it and have a smooth transition. (A good transition takes a lot of practice and time to master. The more events you do the better you will get. )
•Have fun during your first events and gain the experience.
•Only take your bike off the rack once your helmet is fastened.
•Maintain a safe and legal space between other competitors – no drafting.
•Take the corners carefully and keep your inside peddle up (away from the ground) as you go around the corner. Accelerate as you come out of the corner to maintain your pace.
•When approaching the finish of the cycle, slow down ready to dismount at the dismount line. Put your bike in a low gear and spin your pedals quickly for the last few minutes of the cycling leg to help minimize the sensation of rubbery legs. Keep your helmet fastened until your bike is racked back where you began.
•Do a few short fast steps to get the legs going, this may take a few minutes.
•You are now on the third and final leg and just have to maintain a nice steady pace to the finish.
•If it is a hot day run in the shaded spots and drink some water.
•Keep your stride and breathing steady. Walk if you need to.
•Finally you see the finish line steadily you can pick up your speed if you are feeling good or just maintain it if not.
•Celebrate and congratulate yourself and your friends.
•You usually feel great at this stage and forget to stretch, cool down and re fuel.
•It is very important to replenish your body with fluids and carbohydrates which will absorb quickly.
•Cool down and stretch is very important to ensure you can walk comfortably the next day

start

5 thoughts on “Duathlon training begins…

  1. If that was your first brick in a long while I wouldn’t feel bad about your results. Give yourself some time to adapt and you’ll be fine for your race.
    Eric
    Duathlon.com

Leave a Reply

