Success at the Paddle Battle

Back on July 1st I mentioned my interest in a Paddle Board Race that was coming up. I wasn’t able to get as much practice in as I would have liked (only 1 session a week) but the date had come and I was as ready as I could be. My daughter and I rode out to LSU Lakes and found my team members Michelle and Tara for the 250m women’s relay. We got a very quick practice in and we were off. All of the three member relay teams started together (women, men, coed). Each member had to complete the course two times and there were Top 3 prizes for each division. We were off to a strong start in the #2 position and held it till the last lap. Unfortunately the lifejacket on the front of the Yak during my turn was coming halfway off and interfering with my stroke so I had to bend down twice to adjust it which unfortunately probably caused us to slip into the #3 position. I was a little disappointed but still happy to be in the Top 3 spot.
Next up with not much of a rest in between was the 250m Sprint. This race is open to women, men, race boards and recreational. Everyone starts at the same time and prizes for the Top 3 women/men to make it past the buoy wins. This race ended up a bit tougher than I expected. For one a lot of wake to balance through and competition was fierce. I ended up in the 4th or 5th spot for the Women’s Sprint. Now I could breathe and eat a sandwich or so I thought. Alaina’s kid race was next. She went to find me to see her off and the race started sooner than we expected and she missed it. OOPS!! But never fear she got some encouragement to do the last race of the day. The One Miler which was two loops around the marked portion of the lake. This would be quite a feat. They said that if she could do one loop they would count it. Before I could say anything she was already on a board. I decided to go and pace her for encouragement. This would be an off the board start due to the amount of people doing it. So off we went. She was nice and steady until she was coming to the end of the 1st loop and fell in the water. She got right back on the board and finished the loop. I was proud. That is one of the many things I love about my daughter is that she always finishes what she starts.

My personal goals were all met for this race: To finish upright and score at least one Top 3 position. Check! Alaina’s goal was to have fun and try something new. Check!

A few pics from the race:

Our gameface for the Womens Relay

Our gameface for the Womens Relay

Getting some last minute race instructions

Getting some last minute race instructions

about to shove off for the relay

About to shove off for the relay

I was giving it everything I had

I was giving it everything I had

Alaina and I coming in at the half mile mark of the 1 miler

Alaina and I coming in at the half mile mark of the 1 miler

We scored the coveted trophy paddles with 3rd place in the Women's Relay. I could not have asked for better teammates!

We scored the coveted trophy paddles with 3rd place in the Women’s Relay. I could not have asked for better teammates!

Alaina scored an award and race swag. So proud of her for not giving up

Alaina scored an award and race swag. So proud of her for not giving up


The race directors from Muddy Water Paddle Company did an amazing job with this 4th Annual Race. I am so glad I took a step out of my comfort zone to do this. The volunteers and sponsors were also great. It was so well organized. I’d like to do this again next year if I can. For now back to running. I have a fall schedule to work on.

You can view additional pictures from the August 3rd Paddle Battle courtesy of Nicholas Martino Photography at:
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.679506708729682.1073741836.265541836792840&type=1

If you are in the Baton Rouge, LA surrounding area and would like more information on Paddleboarding you can contact Muddy Water Paddle Company at:
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Muddy-Water-Paddle-Company/520982667969002

6 thoughts on “Success at the Paddle Battle

Leave a Reply

