A fun morning at the zoo, with a 5k thrown in!

If you caught my last post you know Saturday morning BREC’s Baton Rouge Zoo held their annual ZooZoom 5K and ½ Mile Fun Run. This was a fun (& again very warm) race like last year. Over 800 runners came out to run with the lions, tigers, and bears. There biggest year yet! My finish time was 28:28. (4 seconds slower than my time last year and missed out on Top 3 this time). Alaina finished in 37:55 but she did have almost 10 yards of tulle around her lol! She hasn’t been training (due to her Scoliosis back brace) but she will soon when the temps cool down a bit. We missed the Asian elephant “Bozie” that we saw last year. Turns out the Asian Elephant exhibit is now closed. Bozie got moved to the Smithsonian National Zoo in DC. Due to zoo accredited changes over the years it will take a major capital campaign to fund a larger elephant exhibit to hold more elephants of an African descent and to the requirements that are now needed for the elephant’s safety.
Doing local races like this are important as a way to give back to the community. As we walked around the zoo after the race there were still some lovely animals around but definitely time for some improvements.

Here are some pictures from the race:

We went to go check out a couple of the exhibits before the race started (& while we were still fresh)

We went to go check out a couple of the exhibits before the race started (& while we were still fresh)


Quick picture before the race. Yep, she has much better posture than me.  At age 13 she is already my height (when I am not slouching)

Quick picture before the race. Yep, she has much better posture than me. At age 13 she is already my height (when I am not slouching)


Race started in the parking lot and entered inside the zoo

Race started in the parking lot and entered inside the zoo


Look at my peacock go!

Look at my peacock go!


She's headed for the finish line! So proud of her

She’s headed to the finish line! So proud of her


Sightseeing around the zoo after the race

Sightseeing around the zoo after the race

Next up is the NFL Saints 5k next Saturday in New Orleans. I am quite excited to run it this year with my daughter. What’s more exciting than to start in Champions Square and Finish on the 50-yard line of the Superdome?

7 thoughts on “A fun morning at the zoo, with a 5k thrown in!

    • It was, Thanks. I know I just started this blog in January but I am enjoying it. Its a nice way for me to go back and reflect on previous races. I wish I had started it sooner but you know what they say better late than never. May I say an early “Happy Birthday” to you!!! I bet you are more than excited about your #DumboDare weekend ahead 🙂

Leave a Reply

