A Family Finish at the NFL Saints 5K!

Picture the Start line at Champions Square and the Finish line INSIDE the Superdome. This 5k is like no other. I ran this event with a friend last year and promised myself to come back with my daughter. Two days before the race I found out my husband would be off work so I secretly signed him up and posted it on Facebook for him to see. I told him it would be just like this! (well almost). I also promised him we would take it easy on him since he had no training and had not done a race before. He just couldn’t miss out!
Finish line
A couple of friends came with us and we drove in to New Orleans for packet pick up the morning of the race. We parked at the Superdome garage and had a short walk to packet pickup. It was a breeze with the instructions given from the website. The race started on time at 7:30am.

We were in the 10 min pace wave about to cross the Start Line of the 5k. Woohoo!

We were in the 10-11 min pace wave about to cross the Start Line of the 5k. Woohoo!


Since it was a wave start the faster runners went ahead and we could take an easy walk/jog pace. This was good since it was quite warm.
Almost to the Mercedes-Benz Superdome where the Finish Line was waitting for us!!!!!

Almost to the Mercedes-Benz Superdome where the Finish Line was waitting for us!!!!! My husband is in the white shirt and black backwards cap. My daughter is in the black Drew Brees #9 jersey


The Tunnel!! Where the football players rush onto the field.
This was our unique entrance to the Finish Line!
tunnel
It was so much fun to “Start” and “Finish” a race as a family. It was truly a moment.
Finishers !! My hubby completed his first ever 5k!

Finishers!! My hubby completed his first ever 5k!


On to my favorite part. Picture taking!!!!
Alaina and I had to get a pic with Sir Saint!!

Alaina and I had to get a pic with Sir Saint!! Who Dat!!


Alaina with part of the Finish Line behind her

Alaina with part of the Finish Line behind her


Even 'benched' Steve is happy! Best seat in the house!

Even ‘benched’ Steve is happy! Best seat in the house!


The party continues after you cross the Finish Line with a post-race tailgate party and Bud Light Beer Garden in Champions Square (Free Draft Beer) which yes even though it was before 9:30am we partaked in !
He earned this for sure!!!!

He earned this for sure!! Steve was such a good sport!


The band this year was “Louisiana Spice” and they were great! This event was even bigger than the Inaugural event last year with over 5000 runners so I am sure they will be back next year. Geaux Saints!!!

To see stats of the amazing winners from this 5k check out this article: http://www.nola.com/running/index.ssf/2013/08/new_orleans_saints_back_to_foo_2.html

To see if this race is available in your city check out: http://www.nflrunseries.com

8 thoughts on “A Family Finish at the NFL Saints 5K!

  1. Thanks for the recap! Kind of gives me a “heads-up”, as I’m running with the Houston Texans, finishing up on the field in Reliant Stadium, on 9-22, my first time doing this race..so excited!

Leave a Reply

