Gone but not forgotten

Not to take away from 9/11 but this week is special for me.
I recently found my Dad’s discharge papers from the Army. Truly priceless!
See 1 year ago he died from a short battle of Stage 4 Lung Cancer.
He was diagnosed on Monday and died unexpectedly from complications on Friday. No time to prepare. So many unspoken words. I am still searching for a way to properly honor him.
Occasionally I feel his presence and strength on my long runs or races. These short moments are too few in between. He is gone but not forgotten. He is honored in my heart.
Born: 11/13/48 Died: 9/14/12 He would have been 65 this November

Take it from me tell your loved ones how you feel about them.
Life is too short to live with regrets.

Dad didn't about his time in the service but it was always something I admired about him.

Dad didn’t about his time in the service but it was always something I admired about him.


Dad took Alaina & I to DisneyWorld for our first time. November 2009.

Dad took Alaina & I to Disney World for our first time. November 2009.


Fathers Day last year (2012) We had no idea how sick he was. He was always so strong.

Fathers Day last year (2012) We had no idea how sick he was at the time. He was always so strong.

#CancerSucks
Miss you Dad.. May they find a cure one day.

“Grief is not the process of forgetting.
Grief is the process of remembering,
with less pain and more joy,
one step at a time..”

Borrowed from: http://www.twinsruninourfamily.com/2013/06/running-with-grief.html

Leave a Reply

