Training progress…

I kicked off my official Half/ Full Training August 6th. Since then I have been running 3-4 times a week. Even with starting a little late in August I had my highest mileage month ever with 63 miles and so far I am already at 47 miles for the month of September.
This past Saturday I had my farthest training run ever at 15 miles. Average pace was 10:30. I feel like I am off to a good start so far. I am trying to take extra care of my hip flexors and IT band by doing extra stretching and foam rolling daily. I applied KT Tape for my long run but it fell off in the humidity. I must get better at applying it. (Tips?)

Finished Strong at 15 with the help of the Varsity Sports running group. Great morning!

Finished Strong at 15 miles with the help of the Varsity Sports running group. Great morning!


Adding mileage too fast is a no-no so I am trying to not get over zealous. The Full I am aiming for is not til 2-2-14 so I have plenty of time. Staying healthy is key especially since I have several races I will be participating in before then.
Will this be my 1st Full? Time will tell

Will this be my 1st Full? Time will tell


Due to the 3-4 hour long runs ahead I asked a question on Facebook recently: Podcasts or Music? I got all kinds of replies from audiobooks, podcasts such as: Another Mother Runner, the Marathon Show, the Extra Mile, and Mickey Miles. Some run with nothing if running with friends, I personally like RockMyRun. I find it helps keep my pace up and Podcasts slow me down a bit. Although I may give podcasts a try just to change it up. The key is to do what works for you. What gets you out that door?
I have this magnet on my fridge from Another Mother Runner. Love it!

I have this magnet on my fridge from Another Mother Runner. Love it!

Do you have any podcasts or audiobook suggestions? What gets you past that 20 mile training mark?

6 thoughts on “Training progress…

  1. You’re doing great Nicole! I love Rock My Run, too. I’ve never run anything over 10 miles in a training run alone, but when I do run alone I always listen to music. Definitely helps to pass the time! :0)

  2. I love that 5th anniversary image from RnR NOLA. Mainly because you can spot my name right above “New Orleans” on the far right!
    Congrats on the mileage. You’re well on your way to that first full. Just be prepared to fall in love with the distance. You may not love the 26.2 miles, but you’ll certainly love the euphoria after it.

Leave a Reply

