Learning curve.. The jump from the Half to the Full

I have learned that I have lots to learn.
Fortunately there is tons of advice everywhere. Twitter, Facebook, various websites such as Runner’s World and Women’s Running. The only problem is figuring out a plan that works for you. This goes for nutrition, training schedule, recovery and so on. I am researching like crazy to prepare myself mentally as well as physically for the Full. Fortunately I have 139 days to prepare and I am ahead on my training. Last week I ran 15 miles for my long run but today I only got 14 in due to a bad tumble I took around mile 8. My first fall! I asked the question today on Facebook if this meant I was a real runner now since I shed blood on my run. One of the responses I got “Just so you know, you were a real runner a long time ago. I think that happened the first time you put on some running shoes and headed out the door. He is so right. It doesn’t matter if it’s a 5k or a Full. Just a neighborhood run or a race. You’re out there doing it!!!

Back to my run from this morning. I met up with a couple new ladies from Varsity Sports that were looking to run 13 miles at 7am. Great weather and I get to sleep in? SOLD!
I ran a bit slower pace today than my normal but I was able to carry on a conversation and didn’t need to take any walk breaks. During these conversations I learned some great things. Heather has ran over 20 Fulls and traveled all over. I got to pick her brain for advice for myself and Betsy which was INVALUABLE!!
1: On hills take short steps with high turnover (we practiced this today and it worked)
2: Save your speed for the second half of the race (this applies for any distance) so you don’t burn out
3: Test your nutrition & hydration, get body glide for chaffing (this one I knew)
4: Shoes for Full training- Wear a half size to a full size larger to accommodate swelling. This will help prevent black toenails. (This one I have never heard of before!!)
5: She mentioned I am a bit ahead of schedule on my training and I may need to slow down a bit or I will peak too early. (I think she is right)

Now on to recovery. I purchased a pair of compression socks today since my ankle was a bit sore from my fall. There are so many different brands to try. From my personal research I found the Zensah calf compression sleeves to be thin and comfortable. Something you can easily wear for a run or under your jeans for recovery and not be hot. CEP calf compression sleeves were warmer but had added comfort. I don’t see that it would be possible to run in but for recovery would be helpful. Again since my feet were tired and my ankle sore (but not swollen) from my spill the CEP ‘socks’ was the most beneficial for me today. Again so much to learn and that was only two brands! Fortunetly I got some advice from fellow running friends. Dont know what I would do without them.
Progress is progress.

What is the best piece of training advice you have received?

keep_moving_forward

7 thoughts on “Learning curve.. The jump from the Half to the Full

  1. I feel lucky that before I picked up heavy mileage years ago, my local running store gave me the tip on bigger shoes than normal. I’ve never lost a toenail, and have only had one black toe, and it was due to race conditions not shoe issues.

    • I have ran several Half’s and have never heard that. However I do run in Asics which accommodates a larger toe box so maybe thats’ why or is that more related to people that run higher mileage Full’s , ultras etc?

  2. Definitely great things to consider! I think for me it has always come back to the key being to enjoy yourself. It’s not worth doing a full and spending all the time training if you are just hating every moment {which a lot of people do!}. I’ve also found that when I smile at those moments where it gets hard, everything starts to feel better… I stand up taller which helps with breathing and attitude!

  3. “Run the mile you are in.” Sometimes we can get so caught up in trying to forecast the rest of the race, that we lose focus on accomplishing the current task, to hit the pace for THAT specific mile. This one takes patience, but it is much easier to focus on hitting a single split, rather than the next 7.

    oh… and HAVE FUN. That’s what running should be and how we originally fell in love with it.

Leave a Reply

