The Strength Within…

Wednesday is the day. I turn the big 4-0. Will the earth open up and swallow me in? Probably not but this is the feeling I have had for months. This past year has taught me that tomorrow is not a guarantee that you must live for today. Seeing everyone live out their goals is a huge incentive and with today’s social media everything is out for display, but don’t take that as a negative take that as encouragement. One story I have been following is Kimberly Markey from http://makermothermarathonrunner.com/
This past July Kimberly was diagnosed with Breast Cancer at 41. The gene runs in her family so she was well versed but nothing can prepare you. She has publicly shared her story to promote awareness of breast cancer and breast cancer surgery. Just weeks after surgery she ran the 2013 Disneyland Half Marathon and Inaugural Dumbo Double Dare Challenge. Days after shaving her head she rocked a bright pink wig and ran the Tower of Terror 10 miler. Last Thursday she received a chemo treatment and on Sunday she ran the Chicago Marathon! This woman is amazing and aspiring. A true Rockstar! I am in awe.

Then there is my friend Susan Hayden. Because of her I learned how to swim and did my first sprint triathlon last year. She recently conquered Ironman Tahoe and recently signed up for Ironman Chattanooga fundraising for Ulcerative Colitis and Crohn’s Disease. Every time I see her she is so encouraging of everyone no matter how small the goal. I truly admire her. She has such a “Can Do” attitude and truly believes everyone has it within them to be great. You can read more about her here: https://susan-hayden.squarespace.com/

Next up is Olive. She recently wrote a blog post about venturing out of your comfort zone. http://olivetorun.com/2013/10/10/the-beauty-in-discomfort/ Olive has an honest, zest for life that is undeniable. I loved her list that she shared. Some are very similar to my own. For months I have thought about two in particular. Tandem skydiving and a tattoo. The closest I could go for a somewhat scenic skydive is Biloxi. My husband was not thrilled with the idea of me jumping out of a plane. He tends to like having me around lol! So I decided to wait on that one a bit and hopefully on a future trip I can do it in a scenic locale. Another idea I had was to run a destination race around my birthday like the Nike San Francisco Half Marathon or the Runner’s World Half but due to my recent foot injury that was probably a good thing I didn’t pursue it. So I came back to a tattoo. This is something personal I have wanted for a very long time. I knew exactly what I wanted. A sketch of a Japanese Cherry Blossom and the symbol for Strength. Strength is within ourselves. It is what gets us through the tough times and value the good ones. You push forward stronger and realize you are ALWAYS stronger then you think! So Saturday I did it and I absolutely love it. Here is a pic from Day 2. It is about 2×3 in size and is on my upper right shoulder on my back. Every time I look at it I love it more.
day 2 tattoo

So now bring on 40 with a bang!! I am wiser and truly value those in my life. I have so much to still learn and experience. I look forward to many more adventures.

What have you done recently out of your comfort zone or plan to do?

4 thoughts on “The Strength Within…

Leave a Reply

