Whats up next? a bridge, catfish and dreams

Tomorrow morning I have a 12-14 mile training run planned then a 10 mile race next weekend. “Middendorf’s Manchac 10 miler”.
middendorfs_manchac_race_promo
I have been wanting to run this race for awhile but the past two years in a row I have ran the “Goldenfliers 10 miler” instead since it is on the same day and in my home town Baton Rouge. This year I have decided to break the cycle and sign up for Middendorf’s. This one will be a highly competitive race since its a Louisiana RRCA 10 Mile State Championship race. I certainly wont be at that top level, especially after I googled and saw this.

EEK! Is that a bridge?!

EEK! Is that a bridge?!


I had “heard” there was a bridge but oh my! BREATHE! This will be a race to just “do” it. No pressure. Just get it done and enjoy the post race dinner afterwards. It’s never too early in the morning for Catfish and Beer right ?! There is also a 5k so I may ask my daughter Alaina if she would like to join in.
Post race grub for all runners compliments of Middendorf’s Restaurant, Manchac, Louisiana

Post race grub for all runners compliments of Middendorf’s Restaurant

My next planned race will be the 20th Anniversary of the “Baton Rouge Beach Half” on December 7th http://www.brbeachmarathon.com/
I have ran this route many times but never the race so I figured why not get a medal for it?! I am thinking for Full training I will run this 13.1 then get another 4-5 miles in right after the race. That’s the “plan” anyway. Plan B will to run 6-8 miles the day after but if I am feeling good I will be going with Plan A.

My “10th” Half Marathon will be “The Louisiana Half Marathon” on 1-19-14. http://www.thelouisianamarathon.com/ I am an Ambassador for this race and truly love the course and atmosphere so it was a no brainer for this one to be extra special.

As you may recall two weeks after will be the “Rock ‘n’ Roll New Orleans Full Marathon”. My First Full. I know it is very ambitious and my training isn’t going that great but run, walk or crawl I will cross that Finish line on 2-2-14. This race was my first Half in 2011 so it is very important to me. No self doubt, all heart. That is the plan. #roadto26.2

Love this!

Love this!

Thank you for all the support on my blog, Twitter and Facebook it means the world and will definetly be whats get me through these next three months. The running community is amazing. It is like an extended family. I am honored to be among you on this journey.

3 thoughts on “Whats up next? a bridge, catfish and dreams

  1. I’ll look for your recap of Middendorf’s! My co-worker has done it a few time and he loves it. Going to aim to do it next year. I’ll miss Goldenfliers this year as well. You have a lot on your calendar in the coming months!

  2. Wow good luck on that bridge! I ran a 10k on a large bridge last weekend in Philly and while the incline always looks terrifying when I’m driving home and look at the bridge from I-95, it actually wasn’t too bad when you were on it. Anyways, have fun at the race!

Leave a Reply

