A look back leading up to my 10th Half Marathon

#1: ‘Rock ‘n’ Roll Half’ New Orleans,LA 2/13/11 Finished in 2hr:18min BIB#21303
They say you never forget your first and this is true with races as well. I was on such a runners high at this race. I remember halfway through the race I was so pumped I felt like I could run the Full!
a1rnrnola 12

A feeling of accomplishment with my 1st Half completed!

A feeling of accomplishment with my 1st Half completed!


#2: ‘Gulf Coast Half’ Mandeville,LA 10/9/11 Finished in 2hr:06min BIB#269
Gorgeous course at Fontainebleau State Park and weather that made me finish with a smile.
Joe Relaxo & I!

Joe Relaxo & I!


#3: ‘Louisiana Half’ Baton Rouge,LA 1/15/12 Finished in 2hr:6min BIB#1550
This was the Inaugural race and one that I knew I would definitely be repeating. Great course featuring LSU lakes, Campus, Downtown area and historic neighborhoods with lots of spectators to cheer you on along the way.
clahalf2
I ran this one on behalf of 'Kids Fit Foundation'. A national non-profit organization created to serve communities with the charitable mission to fund and provide fitness programs for at risk youth and their families.

I ran this one on behalf of ‘Kids Fit Foundation’. A national non-profit organization created to serve communities with the charitable mission to fund and provide fitness programs for at risk youth and their families.


#4: ‘Rock ‘n’ Roll Half’ New Orleans, LA 3/4/2012 Finished in 2hr:7min BIB#7573
Back for more at this New Orleans race. This race course that passes St. Louis Cathedral and Café DuMonde is just too hard to resist.
Nothing better than the excitement at the Start line. Except of course the relief at the Finish!

Nothing better than the excitement at the Start line. Except of course the relief at the Finish!


drnrnola2
#5: ‘Women’s Half’ Baton Rouge,LA 12/9/12 Finished in 2hr:10min BIB#129
This Inaugural race that’s more geared towards women was a welcome addition to our local community races and lots of great race swag to boot!
I love the special people I meet from running.

I love the special people I meet from running.


First Half I ran after losing my Dad unexpectedly from Lung Cancer on 9-14-12.

First Half I ran after losing my Dad unexpectedly from lung cancer on 9-14-12.


#6: ‘Louisiana Half’ Baton Rouge,LA 1/20/13 Finished in 2hr:12min BIB#1466
Love the race start at our State Capital downtown. It brings me back every time.
flahalf
#7: ‘Disneyworld Princess Half’ Orlando, FL 2/24/13 Finished in 4hr:05min BIB#1001
My PR was in picture taking this day!! I wanted to soak up every second. It was truly magical from Start to Finish. Disney does it great!!
My home away from home!!

My home away from home!!


Fun times and loved meeting a lot of the Team runDisney runners in person.

Fun times and loved meeting a lot of the Team runDisney runners in person.


#8: ‘Gulf Coast Half’ Pensacola,FL 4/7/13 Finished in 2hr:10min BIB#287
This road trip with friends made this weekend racecation so much fun. I would love to do a trip like this annually maybe Vegas next year?
Fun Times!

Fun Times!


hcp2
#9: ‘Baton Rouge Beach Half’ Baton Rouge,LA 12/7/13 Finished in 2hr:10min BIB #434
This was the coldest, most challenging race I have done yet but considering this course provided my training for many early mornings a Finisher Medal was well deserved!
I think this pic captures the shivering well but still we are all smiles :)

I think this pic captures the shivering well but still we are all smiles 🙂

And my 10th will by the ‘3rd Annual Louisiana Half’ Baton Rouge,LA on 1/19/14
Check out the race promo video to see why this is yet another event repeat for me.
I purposely held out so Louisiana Half could be a milestone race for me.
http://www.thelouisianamarathon.com/its-a-running-fest/
I am expecting to run this one with dead legs considering I am in Full Marathon training and my farthest run will be the weekend before this race. My 1st Full Marathon is 2 weeks after at Rock ‘n’ Roll New Orleans,LA on 2/2/14. I have many friends that will be at both of these races so they will be extra special.

Sometimes it’s fun to look back to reflect and see how far you have come. It can help motivate you towards the future. As I look back at these races I appreciate the memories and friends I have made along the way. Thank you for letting me share this with you.
ImageProxy

3 thoughts on “A look back leading up to my 10th Half Marathon

  1. You’ve done a lot of awesome races! My first half will be Disney princess in February and I’m so excited! I also figured it would be a good first half because I know it will be my slowest half ever with all the picture taking and crowds 🙂

Leave a Reply

