Work Hard-Train Smart-Play Hard

As I mentioned in my last post I planned to take up my friend Daurie on her offer and take one of her TREAD classes last weekend. Talk about a workout and a half! This is the description of the class: 1 hour small group interval training class with a combination of treadmill based cardio, strength training and Pilates core exercises to provide a total body workout. Trust me when I tell you it is that and then some!
I consider myself to be in shape but this class had me working hard. The instructor is practically teaching two classes at once. The class is limited to 12 students with half on the treadmills and half on the floor with 6 minute intervals and then you switch off. She can have you doing anything from incline on level 20 with a speed of 5 to doing ball planks on the floor. You will WORK! I will be back and possibly arrange something with Baton Rouge Moms to spotlight it since I am a contributor writer and hope to give a chance for a few local moms to come take a class. (Stay tuned)
tread
Last night I went to my second session at Prep Fitness. Jordan put me on a Prep 500 session which was good because I am working on re-learning how to do proper squats, lunges and basic positioning to strengthen my hip flexors and core. It is difficult because you really have to stop and think about each move. Technique is crucial for proper form and I am heavily concentrating on strengthening right now as I am taking a break from long races. I still did a short run before and after class to get my cardio in but I felt pretty good about the session and hoping I progress quickly.

A couple of examples of what I am working on:
Keeping Your Weight in Your Heels for Squats
How to Keep Your Knees Out on Squats
Proper Deadlifts

Developing a stronger core and hip flexors will help me be a stronger runner.
I will still be doing smaller trail/road races that are 6 miles or less but I must get stronger to prevent any more injuries. Work Hard-Train Smart-Play Hard-That is the game plan.

Have you ever had to take a step back from running to get stronger? How did you stay motivated? I think I am going to be signing up for a couple smaller races in April and May to stay on track. Any advice as I am working on Strengthening?
Work Hard-Train Smart-Play Hard

3 thoughts on “Work Hard-Train Smart-Play Hard

  1. Expect while training for Goofy and Dopey Challenges, I only run three days a week. My cross training days include biking and swimming, but core work is key. I am planning to incorporate more weights to get a stronger core….that is my biggest weakness. That Tread class sounds really fun and different.

Leave a Reply

