Great times with Great friends at CCC10k

I wasn’t planning on writing a recap for Crescent City Classic 10k before my vacation but it was such a great day that I wanted to share a few details.
I rode down with my frunner friend (fun-running-friend) Jennifer Zenuch and her family. we parked at Delgado and rode the shuttle in to the start right at 7:30am (race started at 8am). The weather was perfect. About 58 degrees and sunny but we knew it was going to warm up fast. We met up with fellow bloggers Heather Montgomery and Larisa Dixon who SUPRISE will be my relay part for “Team Tag Your It” at the Ironman 70.3 Relay on 9-28-14. I was thrilled to meet her though she reminded me we had met once before at the Woman’s Half race back in December of 2012. (Wow,some memory)

Lookie!! It's my relay partner for IM 70.3 Augusta. Woohoo Larisa!!!!!

Lookie!! It’s my relay partner for IM 70.3 Augusta. Woohoo Larisa!!!!!


My frunner friend Jen. I always have a good time with her ๐Ÿ™‚ We are showing some Dirty South Running love with our shirts and of course some “Sparkle” with our skirts!.


We took a few pictures before the race start and headed to our corals. I had trouble finding the Red corral but found the flag right before the start. I noticed that a lot of runners of all different groups were mixed up which was warning sign #1. With a race estimated at 26k runners (the largest road race in Louisiana) it really is important to line up correctly by the time you estimate to finish the race. In my coral I noticed I was right next to Mindy Bobe another blogger friend whom I met before. This race drew everyone in. How fun!
Roadrunner Girl !!! It's been too long!!

Roadrunner Girl !!! It’s been too long!!


We would meet up for an after pic in the VIP area with Larisa. I crossed the Start line at about 8:12am and down Poydras we went for a spectacular 6.2 miles. The last time I ran these streets was Rock ‘n’ Roll New Orleans and it was so foggy you couldn’t see a thing so I was relieved for clear skies today. The streets was very congested as expected with all the runners. There was some road debris that you had to be careful of but the biggest hazards were the runners themselves. Some would stop immediately in front of you rather than going to the side of the race or would be talking on their phones. (Seriously, what the?!)
Again I am sorry but if it will be a casual stroll PLEASE line up to the back. I am not an elite or 7min mile runner by any means but this slowed me down tremendously. Next time I wont line up late to my coral and possibly re-evaluate to be closer up. None the less it was a great morning and the course was well marked with lots of New Orleans landmarks on the paths as well as plenty of water stations. Towards the end of mile 2 I got out my phone and decided to have fun and take a few pics along the way.
run
Of course I had to stop & take a pic with the Easter Bunny right past Mile 3 :)

Of course I had to stop & take a pic with the Easter Bunny right past Mile 3 ๐Ÿ™‚


Quick Selfie with Cesar the Race Director of Q50 at Mile4. Thanks Cesar, Suzanne & Stephen for spending your morning handing out water to the runners. You all are awesome. Volunteers Rock!

Quick Selfie with Cesar the Race Director of Q50 at Mile4. Thanks Cesar, Suzanne & Stephen for spending your morning handing out water to the runners. You all are awesome. Volunteers Rock!


Mile 5 with the Saints mascots and look its  George Melichar to the left. Marathoner, Team Refuel athlete for Got Chocolate Milk, and Rock โ€˜nโ€™ Roll Ambassador.

Mile 5 with the Saints mascots and look its George Melichar to the left. Marathoner, Team Refuel athlete for Got Chocolate Milk, and Rock โ€˜nโ€™ Roll Ambassador.


Even with all the stops my official time was 1:04 which wasn’t bad considering I didn’t train for this race and signed up just a week ago with my free entry thanks to Eat Fit NOLA. I knew it wasn’t going to be a PR day. There is always next year. Top 500 for the coveted race posters has some pretty stiff competition I have to admit. Based on this years numbers for the Women you have to run it under a 8:40 pace/53 min and the Men under a 7:05pace/43min. Amazing!

The 2014 Michelob Ultra RaceFest was held just a short walk from the Finish at the Practice Track in City Park. Lot’s of vendors but I have to say my favorite was the Louisiana Marathon tent.

A Race Director that can serve up a mean bloody mary? SCORE!! Thanks Craig Sweeney

A Race Director that can serve up a mean bloody mary? SCORE!! Thanks Craig Sweeney


and let’s not forget the Costumes!!
costumes
My friend Tara. Race Director/Founder for Dirty South Running

My friend Tara. Race Director for Dirty South Running


After pic with the blogger group. Melanie, Jewel, Larisa, Jennifer, Mindy, Heather, Holly. Don't tick off these ladies lol!

After pic with the blogger group. Melanie, Jewel, Larisa, Jennifer, Mindy, Heather, Holly. Don’t tick off these ladies lol!

Next year I may have a chance to be part of the Social Media team for Crescent City Classic 10k which would be fun. We shall see.

Can you spy me?

Can you spy me?! More Memories Made which always makes race day more special. PR’s aren’t everything. Great times with Great friends. Thank you all!!!!!!


For more Race Details on Crescent City Classic 10k check out there website and Facebook page: http://www.ccc10k.com/ https://www.facebook.com/ccc10k?fref=photo

Until then I must pack for my trip to Tennessee and let’s not forgot about the Boston Marathon tomorrow. I am sure I will be on Facebook checking updates from people I know running it during my 10 hour drive. #BostonStrong

8 thoughts on “Great times with Great friends at CCC10k

Leave a Reply

