Be the best version of yourself

Aack summer is HERE!!! But I am not beach ready yet what happened? Why do we ask ourselves this at the beginning of every summer?
To be honest I still have 5 pounds I would like to lose from Full Marathon training. Those stubborn, hard to lose five pounds where your pants just fit a tad snugger than you would like and seems to slow my running pace by a full minute which is quite frustrating.

Why does it have to be so hard?

Some people look at you crazy and say “I WISH I just had 5 pounds to lose” but truth be told when I was 5 pounds lighter I still was not happy.

WHY as women are we so hard to satisfy?

WHY are we so critical of ourselves?

WHY am I clueless in a clothing store when I finally get the gumption to go shopping to only leave in disappointment?

WHY do we only post picture of ourselves when it shows our best features?

There has been a lot of talk about body image as of late. From Special K commercials to shut down fat talk to Taryn Brumfitt’s Body Image Movement making a documentary to “Embrace Your Self Acceptance”. Remember the Dove® Campaign for Real Beauty ads featuring six real women with real bodies and real curves? The bottom line is if everyone looked the same our world would be pretty boring. Your self acceptance is NOT based on other people it is yourself. The trick is not to be over critical of yourself. To indulge but not go overboard. To enjoy life and know that it is meant to be savored!
So yes, I had a slice of cake with my lunch today and it was DELICIOUS!
I know that I may need to work out a bit extra tonight but hey that just means I can get in some speed work right? I will lose those 5 pounds eventually and get back my running pace.

I guarantee that if something happened to you tomorrow and your no longer on this earth your last thoughts are not going to be “Man, I wish my thighs weren’t so big!”

So yes you can have it all in moderation. Be the best version of yourself and it will all fall in place. This is a lesson I work on daily. It’s my never ending struggle. I always say I am a work in progress even after I lost half my size. Sometimes I look in the mirror and all I see is the excess skin or jiggle. I am a mom to a young teenage daughter who I don’t want to see go through my weight struggles so I try my hardest to not talk negatively around her. I allow junk food in my home but also fruit and yogurt. I tell her she can have anything she wants “in moderation”. I know as a parent you can’t ban it or they would just go find it elsewhere. You have to educate them to know what the better choices are and why. That’s your job as a parent. It’s not easy, you will make mistakes but learn from them and know that yes, it will be ok. Tomorrow is another day, Don’t compare yourself to others. Focus on YOU and Make it Great!

be-the-best-version-of-yourself

12 thoughts on “Be the best version of yourself

  1. Preach girl!! I hear you on those pesky 5 lbs. Started this baby weight journey with an extra 5 lbs. but trying not to stress over it. Just trying to focus on healthy eating and continued movement right now. And ummm….where’s my piece of cake?? 🙂

  2. Bwahahahaha. I’ll buy you a slice next time I see you my beautiful friend 🙂 That was a hard post to write and its just a “cusp” of my inner thoughts. It really is what my innerself ” A journey to a healthier me” is all about. My daily inner struggle. Never ending…

  3. Great post Nicole. We all at various times see ourselves in a not so great light. Physical appearance will fade (just ask this old lady runner), but having a healthy attitude about your shape can make a world of difference. Rock on Nicole!

    • Thanks Pam you really made my day. I thought to myself “Do I really want to put my most personal inner thoughts out there?” And then I clicked Publish and the world didn’t swallow me up. Success!! Thanks for the positive feedback it really keeps my going on this journey “to a healthier me” inside and out ☺️😉

Leave a Reply

