A new milestone

This week I reached over 10k hits on my blog. I started it last January initially to write about race recaps but it has become a new form of therapy. I still find it hard to share about certain personal subjects but the positive feedback has been reassuring. Like a turtle I am starting to come out of my shell.

It's scary out there!

It’s scary out there!


Blogging so far has led me to meet new people such as Harmony from Modern Mommy Madness whom I met from Baton Rouge Moms. I love her to death. She is down to earth, touch of southern sass, with a bubbly personality yet so vulnerable. Tiany with Baton Rouge Moms came across my blog and invited me to come on board as a Contributor last October and it has been very rewarding. You can view my articles on various subjects from ‘Ladies Self Defense’ to ‘Running 101’ here http://batonrougemoms.com/author/nicole/

I have been fortunate to be mentioned on several blogs such as:
Claim Your Journey
Roadrunner Girl
Running Loving Living by Toni Church
Louisiana Health and Fitness Magazine
Next Tuesday I will be featured on: Lil Mys Ninja as “Featured Runner Tuesday”.

Most exciting of all is what’s coming up in August!!! I will be featured in Women’s Running Magazine this August as their “Blogger on the Run”. I am QUITE excited about this.

I can't WAIT to add this logo to my blog :)

I can’t WAIT to add this logo to my blog ๐Ÿ™‚


Woo Hoo!!!!!!

Woo Hoo!!!!!!


This is something I have wanted for quite some time. My feature should be in print and online. I am DYING to see it. You submit information and pictures but you never know what they will use until it is out. I learned this when I was in SELF magazine in February 2012 as a “Self-Inspired” Success Story. It ended up being a very small article and I was honored but Women’s Running Magazine is HUGE! To be even “mentioned” is amazing but to be featured as a “Blogger on the Run” I am over the moon excited. For me it is a form of self redemption that YES I am worthy to be on the roads with you, my written experiences on my blog are note worthy. I may not be the fastest or able to participate in all of the races I would like too but I am out there doing what I can and enjoying it.

The biggest challenge is balancing a full time job, being a wife, mother,keeping up with my blogging and training to not only participate in races but also maintain my weight is difficult at times to say the least. Dorothy Beal from Mile Posts this week wrote a very touching post. Getting My Priorities Straight where she even admits she struggles with her race commitments and family time. This was HUGE for me to hear. I am sure this was hard for her to write about passing up a “lifetime opportunity” (which she has many of, she admits) to volunteer at her son’s field day at school. Dorothy shares that that even when your an adult you make mistakes but its ok. We are still learning and growing to be a better person, friend, mother. I agree with her 100%.
So yes, my opportunities are growing and I am EXTREMELY grateful but we have to keep our priorities in focus as we continue on this journey that is life.

Wife-Mother-Technology Buyer-Runner-Blogger

My question to you: How do you struggle? How do you balance your roles?
balance-work-and-family
NeverGetSoBusyMakingaLivingThatYouForgettoMakeaLife

4 thoughts on “A new milestone

  1. Congrats on the Blogger on the Run! How did you submit for that? I’ve seen it on other fellow bloggers and wonder if I could even be in the running with so many awesome running bloggers out there.

    I’m excited for your upcoming feature on my blog too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I look at all you fellow runners that are mothers and always wonder how you do it all! You are amazing. I sometimes feel bad for even complaining the teeniest when I struggle to juggle everything in my life and I don’t have kids! Kudos to you. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

