Tips to Staying Healthy on a Vacation Cruise

I have to admit when hubby first suggested a 7 day cruise getaway for the two of us I got a bit of an anxiety attack. The thought of endless high calorie food options that I couldn’t possibly countermeasure with exercise while my waist band expanded and having to wear a bathing suit the majority of the time didn’t sound very relaxing.

How could I possibly pull this off without gaining ten pounds and continue my training?

Fortunately hubby understood that I would need to work out on sea days and went into planning mode. There was a jogging track on the ship and a gym that opened at 6am daily stocked full of treadmills and workout equipment. They even offered classes if I wanted to change it up and do Spin, Bootcamp or Pilates.

The gym was very close to our Spa room on deck 12. SCORE!!!

The gym was very close to our Spa room on deck 12. SCORE!!!

Some tips I learned to help manage eating and drinking on the cruise:

  • Limit alcohol drinks to 2 a day. Especially since my favorite is the “Fun Ship” a fruity, rum cocktail which obviously is more calories than a light beer.
  • Try to eat in the dining room the majority of the time instead of the buffet to have a higher chance of making better food choices and control your portion sizes.
  • Menus in the dining room always notate healthier food choices but were not always the most tasty so if you are going to opt for the higher calorie dessert choice have a couple bites and share!
  • Opt for fresh fruit and grilled vegetables, meat options when available instead of fried or those with a heavy sauces. The grilled salmon and seafood was a hit every time with me.
  • Skip the bread when possible!  (I admit I did not do this ‘every’ time)
  • Stay hydrated by drinking lots of water.

Tips to working out on the ship:

  • Refresh your music playlist and have your device fully charged before your trip.
  • After boarding the ship take a tour of the gym and pick up a schedule to see what classes are offered.
  • Pack your own water bottle to bring  to the gym. There is generally a water fountain located there.
  • Bring sunglasses in case it is sunny at the jogging track or in the gym due to the open windows.

 

The Chocolate Melting Cake is always a favorite. My friend Karen would notice the "Hidden  Mickey" reference so I had to share this one :)

The Chocolate Melting Cake is always a decadent favorite. My friend Karen (who blogs at Just Me and My Running Shoes)  would notice the “Hidden Mickey” reference so I had to share this one 🙂

 

Plan adventurous excursions! We zip lined, kayaked and snorkeled. Lots of active fun.

Yes, I took a  Selfie underwater during snorkeling in Cozumel

Yes, I took a Selfie underwater during snorkeling in Cozumel

 

I indulged and came back with zero guilt and no added weight on the scale.

Vacation a success!!!   #WorkHardPlayHard

While I was in Grand Cayman I was able to connect to wifi and got a fun surprise from Karen at Run Knit Travel.
WRtweet

 

I am in the July issue of Women’s Running Magazine!  woohoo!!

What a nice prelude to my “Blogger on the Run” feature that will be out in August 🙂

 

Do you have any additional vacation mode tips to staying healthy?

9 thoughts on “Tips to Staying Healthy on a Vacation Cruise

  1. Since we do Disney each year with the kids, (and because the Disney food is AMAZING!), I always check the resort front desk for the suggested jogging routes at our hotel. You can also get them here at this link: https://disneyworld.disney.go.com/recreation/jogging/

    I wake up about an hour before the kids and go for a 5-6 mile run in the morning before we hit the parks. It’s just about the coolest temp I will see all day in Orlando and the resorts are very secure and well lit. Even though a typical day at the parks will log 9-10 miles of walking, it’s always good to get in that extra run to combat that Dole Whip or Mickey Ice Cream bar!

  2. Great post! I went on a cruise a couple of summers ago and was really nervous about how I would do with my workouts. Thankfully I was able to get them done and carved time out of my daily schedule for them. 🙂 That magazine feature is AWESOME! Very good stuff!

  3. Excellent work! It’s so hard not to over-indulge when you’re on vacation or any travel for that matter. Way to stick to your guns and stay with it. Great job!

Leave a Reply

