What running gives back…

runnersworld

Runner’s World posted this today on there Facebook and Twitter today as midweek motivation and it spoke to me. It brought up a range of emotions that I have felt throughout this journey in the past few years since I started running.

When I first started in 2011 I was 37 years old and my first thought was “Am I crazy?”. Isn’t this just for the young, physically fit folks only? Me of all people plan to sign up for a Half Marathon when I have not even run on the road before or done a 5k?  Isn’t this for the people that ran track in school or have less than 10% body fat?  Are my thighs too big and going to weigh me down? What if I get injured am I done? I have weak hip strength, Do I have the time? Can I really do this????

Even with all the doubts I saw this as something new, a challenge to myself that I could do more. That first finish line was the beginning of a new journey. It opened up a path to meet new people. It gave me confidence to do my first duathlon,triathlon and even a full marathon. Some of these I experienced with my daughter and some with friends that decided to join along themselves to try something new.

  • I am grateful I took that first step.
  • I am grateful I put aside the doubts.
  • I am grateful that I am now in my fourth year and I am continuing to push forward.
  • I am grateful for the people I have met on this journey and the encouragement they have provided.
  • I am grateful for the experiences I have had so far and look forward to more.

Running has definitely given me back what I have put into it.

#KeepPushingForward

 

Leave a Reply

