An Impromptu Raceday at Goldenfliers

I went to bed Friday night thinking to myself that the next morning I needed to get a training run in. I knew there would be some friends running the Goldenfliers 5/10miler race out at LSU Lakes so I set my alarm just in case I got the itch. Saturday morning I awoke and yes, I had the itch. A quick check on the weather and I put on my race gear to head out. I was short on time so I knew I would only have time for the 5 miler which didn’t start til 8:05am. It was a gorgeous morning out.

Goldenfliers

My legs were still tired from the previous weekend in Vegas (yes, that recap is coming soon) but I needed to stretch my legs out since I have another Half coming up on 12/6/14 (Baton Rouge Beach Half). I would just see what I could do.

Who wouldn’t want to get up on a Saturday morning for some Turkey/Chili soup and join this crazy crew?

GoldenfVarsity

Plus get a swanky race shirt to add to your collection?me

As far as my results? Not too shabby. 25th woman overall /4th in Age Group/ 47min:47sec/9:33pace ย I’ll take it. I have ran this race twice before at the 10miler distance. It was nice to change it up for the one loop distance plus believe it or not it was my FIRST “Race Day Registration”. Glad they could accommodate me ๐Ÿ™‚ It was a great morning!

For more information and race results you can also visit Goldenfliers on Facebook

 

Leave a Reply

