5th Year Runniversary at Mardi Gras Mambo 10k/15k

five

Yes, “Runniversary” is a word (in the runners dictionary)

If your a runner you know its a special celebration. Every year running is a personal celebration of YES I am still out there, I am still part of the cool kids club, I don’t need an artificial hip yet and when you hit “5” years its indeed quite special ๐Ÿ™‚

For me it started February 5, 2011 at the Mardi Gras Mambo 10k among 890 runners in total on a very chilly morning.The first time putting on a race bib, first time crossing a start line and by the time I crossed the finish I knew I would be ready for the Rock ‘n’ Roll New Orleans Half two weeks later which would be my first Half. (Shout out: Both of these race distances I was joined by my friend “Laurie” whom I will be eternally grateful for in getting me into running ๐Ÿ™‚ )

Fast forward five years later, back where it started this past Saturday morning awaiting the start of a race distance recently added at the Mambo the “15k” with my daughter Alaina who would be doing the “10k” ย her 4th. This would be considered a training run for me to prepare for my 21st Halfย at Rock ‘n’ Roll New Orleans coming up this month on the 28th. (Cue the song “Reunited” by Peaches & Herb)

IMG_1770

Race Start of the Mambo 10k/15k ย 2-13-16ย 

This race has grown in numbers each year due largely to the festive theme, post race awards, bling and yummy treats from cake balls to subs. Today’s count of participants:ย 10k=1306, 15k=665 plus a 1 mile fun run=286

bling

2016 Race Bling for the 10k, 1mile fun run & 15k

We got a quick pre-race pic by a gorgeous oak tree before starting with my daughter Alaina and my running buddy Francine. (Both will be joining me in New Orleans for RNRNOLA)

IMG_1769 (1)

Alaina was genuinely excited for the 10k even though she hasn’t really been training much. She loved being out on a beautiful morning in the race atmosphere with so many friendly faces. I have to say we shared in her excitement. I found out in advance that the race course started both distances off together and would veer off at a couple points and line back up again so I told her I would look for her towards the last mile of the race since my distance was longer. We started with a bit of congestion due to some unexpected road construction then smoothed out for aย single loop for both races that takes runners through the LSU campus, past the LSU lakes, through the Garden District and back to downtown Baton Rouge for a finish party at Town Square. Francine has done really well with her training this fall so I told her that I would meet up with her at the finish to not hold her back. I surprisingly felt really good this morning and kept a decent pace with my endurance that has been improving the past few months. I was anxious to get to the last part of the race course to see if I could find Alaina which I did and she was still smiling and even encouraging others on the course. At the finish I put on her medal and she quickly turned around to put medals on two other ladies that joined her on the course but to her surprise they had followed behind her on the sprint to the finish.

IMG_1789

The post race was busy with participants awaiting the costume contest,ย prizes awarded to 1st, 2nd and 3rd place finishersย and of course the race grub from various sponsors including Raising Cane’s. We met up with Francine to get our times which we were very happy with (me for the 15k 1:34, Francine 15k 1:29 and Alaina 10k 1:35)

A great Runniversary indeed! ย  ย  #RunMardiGras ย  ย #MoreMemoriesMade

Until Rock ‘n’ Roll New Orleans…… ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “5th Year Runniversary at Mardi Gras Mambo 10k/15k

Leave a Reply

