Mandeville 10miler

A month before this race I pulled the trigger to register even though I had not participated in a race since New York plus my weekly long run had not consisted more than 6 miles but this one falling on the day of my birthday (October 16th) would be a good opportunity to shake out the legs and reunite with some friends.This race offered two distances to choose from a 10miler or Half Marathon but I thought due to my lack of mileage that it would be a safer bet to stay with the 10. (Boy did I call that right!)

Packet pickup at Varsity Sports went smooth as always. It was like reuniting with family due to the warm hugs and “How have you been ?”  The sugar skull shirt which would be this year’s theme was perfection. Notice my custom race bib 🙂

img_7107

My sister in law lives 30 minutes away from the race held at Fountainebleu State Park so I drove in the day before and made some Halloween themed birthday treats with my niece and nephew which was the perfect pre-race activity.

The morning of the race I had my race day nerves as always but relished in the fact that I wasn’t doing the Half today, especially since the start temp was looking like a muggy 70 degrees. Right before the canon start of the race I got to see a few friendly faces and we were off to a much familiar oak tree covered path with historic homes I had ran a time or two. This time since it was my birthday I had a goal. I knew it was a bit ambitious but I really wanted one of those sugar skull age group medals. I felt pretty confident that most people would be running the half and I didn’t want to place top three as a default but I truly wanted to earn one.  Wouldn’t you?

sugar-skull-medal

The miles ticked by and I admit I was getting whooped. Fortunately I saw some family at the mile 5 Girls on the Run sponsored water stop and that made me push on. From that point on I would look at my watch when my pace slowed. I would mentally tell myself to keep going. When I heard someone coming I admit I breathed a sign of relief when it was a guy or an elite woman on her way to the end of the Half distance course. The race signs couldn’t come soon enough for my taste. The sun was coming out and I was ready to be done and hopefully collect my age group win.

Finally I was heading back to Fountainebleu State Park towards the race finish chute where the race director knew me by name. I looked forward to get my shout out by Mike. I was finally done! I got freshened up by switching t-shirts and got to see my friend Becky come across her Half Marathon finish about 15 minutes after me. She is a rockstar! I got to give her a congratulatory hug and checked online for my results. Did I place? YES!  2nd!!!!!

Happiness set in and we headed to get some mimosas to celebrate!

img_7153

winners

Celebrating with friends is always the best post race activity!

Race festivities were wrapping up and it was time for me head home to have my birthday brunch with my family. Another Broken Egg did not disappoint complete with a brunch Bellini cocktail made with ABSOLUT Vodka, Domaine de Canton Ginger Liqueur, fresh peaches then topped with Wycliff Champagne. They even threw in complimentary Biscuit Beignets (Southern style with powdered sugar & honey marmalade) YUM!

Cheers to a banner birthday!!!!!

img_7175

 

Leave a Reply

